2018 Spanish Point crowned Munster Champions
Back, from left, John Meere, Ollie McNamara, Bernard Clarke, Michael Hehir, Mervin Hehir, Niall Haeaney, Maurice Murphy, Fergal Hehir, Greg Davidson, Front, from left, Len Wilson, President of Spanish Point Golf Club, Noel Connellan, Captain of Spanish Point, Martin Glenny, Team Manager, Jim Long, Munster branch chairperson and Martin White
Spanish Point Golf Club prevailed in a tense Munster final which saw them claim their fifth Munster Country Clubs title. They overcame Cork challengers Berehaven in the final, eventually winning after the match swayed one way and then the other.
Lismore was the venue for the finals. In the morning matches, Spanish Point beat holders Dunmore, while Berehaven beat Clonakilty.  A heavy shower during the final threatened to delay the match but Spanish point wrapped up their win before that could happen.  They won four matches from the first six, meaning the final match was called in.
The competition is one of the oldest in Munster. The cup records all of the winners from 1932 onwards, when Limerick Golf Club were the winners. This year, 12 clubs qualified to take part, with three Cork teams making it through to the finals. 
Jim Long, Chairman of Munster Golf, acknowledged everyone from Lismore Golf Club for the great welcome they gave to everyone and for making the course available for the event.  He also complimented the club on the condition of the course, especially considering the challenges with the recent dry weather. 
(The Clare Chamption, 24th August 2018)
Historic First for Spanish Point Golf Club

On Sunday 19th August 2001 at Lismore Golf Club, Spanish Point won their 1st cup and pennant winning the Munster County Clubs Cup (Town’s Cup). This cup was first played for in 1932 and is confined to Clubs with less than 18 holes. The format of the competition is 7 players representing each club, played off scratch, minimum h/cup 10. Spanish Point although celebrating its centenary in 1996 and having produced two international golfers, (PJ Leyden R.I.P and Gerry McGlennon) had never won a Munster cup or pennant.Sunday’s success has changed all this with Spanish point now holding the 2001 cup and pennant. Their path to this historic win started with a bye in the 1st round. They then defeated Abbey Feale 4/3 in the 2nd round which was played in Listowel Golf Club. They defeated Clonlara 5.5 / 1.5 in the 3rd round which was played in Dromoland Golf Club and then onto Lismore for the semi-finals and final. In the semi-final Spanish point beat Ballybeggan Park 4.5/2.5, Glengarriff had earlier defeated Templemore. In the tense nail biting final Spanish point defeated Glengarriff 4.5/2.5 amid highly emotional scenes.

In presenting the cup to Spanish point Captain Gerry O’Loughlin, Munster branch Hon match and H/Cap secretary Mick Cashman congratulated both teams for their outstanding sportsmanship and stated that golf was the winner on the day.

The following players represented the club over the tournament, Seamus Cleary, Jim Finnerty, David Fitzgerald, Michael Healy, Pat Keane, Ciaran Og MacMathuna, Aidan Moloney, David Reidy, Brendan Sexton. Team Captains were Peter Hennessy and Gerry O’Loughlin.Club Captain Gerry O’Loughlin, in accepting the cup thanked Lismore Golf Club for the excellent condition of the course; he also thanked Mick Cashman, GUI Munster Branch, all the players and caddies for their commitment for the duration of the competition. He also thanked and complemented all the opponents for their sportsmanship and friendship displayed during the competition.